PhD: Hydrology and Water Resources Engineering, IIT Delhi (1985)
M.Sc: Physics, IIT Kharagpur (1975)
B.Sc(Hons) Physics, IIT Kharagpur (1973)

2018-contg: Independent researcher; Scientific advisor; Trustee, Dr NGP Rao Foundation
2017-18-: KL Rao Chair Professor in Geospatial Sciences, Centre for Earth and Space Sciences, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad, India
2016-1999: Acting Director/Joint Director and Dean; Professor/Principal Scientist, National Academy of Agricultural Research Management (NAARM), Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), Hyderabad, India
1998- 1977: Principal Scientist, Senior Scientist and Scientist, Water Technology Centre (WTC), Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI), Indian Council of Agricultural Research, New Delhi, India

1987-1988: Commonwealth Academic Staff Fellow; Department of Civil Engineering (Water Resources) , University of Birmingham, UK (with Prof Ken Rushton)
2004: Visiting Scholar (with Prof Peter Rogers), Environmental Systems Program, Harvard University, USA

Fellow: National Academy of Agricultural Sciences

Principal Investigator: Several interdisciplinary and multi-institutional research projects sponsored by DST, ICAR and The World Bank.

Publications: 180 + ; including 5 books and 50+ papers in international journals.

Software Products: Geospatial databases, simulation models, and software products for water resources management and sustainable agricultural development

Academic Programmes designed,implemented and accredited :
M.Sc Water Science and Technology at IARI, New Delhi, 1998
Post Graduate Diploma in Management (Agriculture)-PGDMA: 2 year programme in Agribusiness Management at NAARM approved by AICTE – 2009
Post Graduate Diploma in Technology Management in Agriculture (PGDTMA) in distance education mode in association with University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad, Approved by UGC- Distance Education Bureau
Post Graduate Diploma in Environmental Management,  Environmental Protection Training and Research Institute Hyderabad (developed the proposal and designed the  programme and curriculum structure, approved by AICTE)

Teaching: Hydrology;  Geohydrology;  Agribusiness management (Agrifood systems and policies; Agribusiness strategy; GIS in Agribusiness)

Training: Water management; GIS applications; IT applications; Intellectual property and Technology  management; Institutional Governance, Leadership, and Strategy.

Strategic planning:

Vision 2030/2050: ICAR and NAARM; X, XI and XII Plan proposals of NAARM

Intellectual Property Policy of ICAR

Planning and execution of first campus-wide IT network in ICAR  in IARI campus (1995)

Organizational restructuring of NAARM (2011-12)

Capacity Building for transforming National Agricultural Research System to National Agricultural Innovation System (2007-14)

Enhancing Science Culture in Agricultural Research Institutions (2020)

Young Scientist Medal of Indian National Science Academy (INSA-1984)
Central Board of Irrigation and Power Medal – 1990
National Hydrology Award (Ministry of Water Resources) – 1992
Academic Leadership award to NAARM from Agriculture Today (2014) – for Post Graduate education programmes initiated, designed, managed and accredited during my tenure as Joint Director and Dean of the Academy
National Award for Excellence in Management Training, Department of Personnel and Training, Government of India (2015) for Learning and Capacity Building Project (2007-14); an inter-institutional project of National Agricultural Innovation Project of ICAR, funded by The World Bank,  for which I was the National Principal Investigator